2020 CFGA Leadership Award: Bill Awmack

We are thrilled to offer congratulations to Bill Awmack – the 2020 CFGA Leadership Award. Bill has served as a Director with the BC Forage Council since it was first started, and has provided invaluable support to the new generation of forage-focused agrologists in BC.

For decades, Bill has been an immense source of information and knowledge on forages and forage seed in BC, especially as the industry took on increasing responsibility for technology transfer. He is of wonderful disposition, and has been a stalwart in the Canadian forage seed industry.

Bill had the following to say in response to receiving the award:

Bill Awmack, CFGA 2020 Leadership Award recipient

Thanks for the privilege to work in the forage area and to be honoured with this award. I have been lucky to work with many dedicated people (farmers, ranchers and researchers) over the years to promote and advance forage production in BC. Without their help, I know that we would not be able to move this industry forward.

Whether producers identify themselves in the beef cow-calf, dairy, horse or other livestock business, many of them recognize that forage production (both quantity and quality) is the basis of their success. I regard farmers as being the best stewards of our land resource and forage work is an integral part of that stewardship.

Thanks again for this award – although after many years in the forage seed business, I am retiring but I am confident that advances in forage production and use will continue.”

As Bill has transitioned into retirement, he continues to be in touch with BCFC – and we are lucky for it.

The CFGA Leadership Award was established in 2012 to recognize and encourage leadership in the forage and grassland sector. It recognizes individuals, groups or organizations who exemplify or enhance the goals of the CFGA and whose leadership has impact of national and/or international significance.